Now Playing:

Choose the stream and player that works best for you!

Or try these:
"Alexa, play Birch Street Radio on TuneIn" or "on Live365"
"Hey Google, play Birch Street Radio on TuneIn"
Trouble connecting? Contact us for help!

Saturday, May 25, 2019

Debuts by Soda Blonde, Golden Dimes, plus new Super Doppler, Merlot Embargo, Sail By Summer

It's all indie bands in our New Music bin this week, including two debuts and the latest from some groups we've featured before.

From Dublin, we bring you the first release by Soda Blonde, which consists of four of the five members of the recently-disbanded Little Green Cars: Faye O’Rourke, Adam O’Regan, Donagh Seaver O’Leary and Dylan Lynch. "Swimming Through The Night" features O'Rourke's powerful vocal, which evokes comparisons to Annie Lennox and Florence Welch. The band says this track, to be officially released June 7, is one of a "collection of songs written by O’Rourke throughout her early 20s, where she honed in on her unique lyrical style of gritty kitchen-sink realism."

Also making its debut is Golden Dimes, a band formed by New Jersey neighbors who describe themselves as "five suburban dads, all lifetime musicians brought together by fate and a mutual love of great food and drink, an irreverent sense of humor, and positive vibes." They recently released an EP, Uncommon Cents, blending keys, guitars and organic drum sounds with vocal harmony. Our featured pick, "Paper Skin," carries an earnest message for dads and other adults interacting with children: "Never tell them they're not good enough / Don't make them feel that they can't ever win."

The three bands making return appearances in our New Music bin include Super Doppler. This group from Norfolk, Virginia, blends late-Beatles-psychedelic sounds with strains of roots rock and country. Their latest single, "Going Nowhere," might be our favorite yet. Blends well with: Real Estate.

Merlot Embargo is an indie-pop band from Los Angeles fronted by singer-songwriter and guitarist-producer couple Scarlet and Geoff. They caught our attention with their first album in 2016, and have issued several singles since. The latest, "Don't Cry," is an I'll-be-fine-without-you breakup song: "Don't cry for me / when you're the one who wants to leave / baby you don't get to grieve."

We've been playing Sail By Summer's "Casual Drive" for a couple of months, and now we're picking up "Fetch You Roses." It's the latest single to spin out from the upcoming debut album by the "melancholic indie" duo of Norwegian singer-songwriter William Hut and Danish keyboardist Jens Kristian. Casual Heaven is due in August.

No comments:

Post a Comment